Friday, August 03, 2012

Album: Cloudkicker - Fade

Band: Cloudkicker
Album: Fade
Year: 2012
Label: Self Released

01. From The Balcony
02. The Focus
03. Seattle
04. Garage Show
05. LA After Rain
06. Making Will Mad
07. Our Crazy Night

Cloudkicker is a one man progressive metal project from Ben Sharp (aka B.M. Sharp), heavily influenced by math metal and post-metal. Sharp utilizes drum machines and custom tuned guitars in his recordings. progressive and instrumental influences are also obvious in his music. Aviation has been a major recurring theme within each release. Most of the song titles, album titles, and art work are inspired, derived, or influenced by Aviation. For example, each song title from Beacons was taken from actual black box recordings or radio transmissions from crashed or malfunctioning airplanes.

The project has gotten a lot of attention even though he doesn’t have a record deal, and is entirely self financed and produced. Most notably Devin Townsend stated in December 2010 that “Cloudkicker is really good stuff!” via his Facebook-page. Also Riley Breckenridge of the band Thrice named Beacons as one of his favorite albums of 2010.

Ben released a new album titled Fade on 2nd of August.

0 Engineers:

Also check