Saturday, June 16, 2012

Album: Shrine - Somnia

Band: Shrine
Album: Somnia
Label: Cyclic Law
Year: 2012

01. The Grand Design
02. Immersion
03. Lost Beauty
04. Somnia
05. The Iron Water
06. Dream Captured In Stone
07. Ruins
08. On The Edge Of The Void

Shrine is Hristo Gospodinov's personal experimental music project acting in the fields of ambient, dark ambient and post industrial music since 2003. Initially being a guitar player, in 2003 he turned to sampling and computer music.

His new album, Somnia, is a complex audio metaphor that can be interpreted as an aural equivalent of a "low level" lucid dreamstate - a dream in which the dreamer is not fully aware he is dreaming but is still having the ability to control the dream. Based on processing of multiple sound sources ranging from audio synthesis, acoustic instruments and field recordings, the album explores several imaginary realities immersing you into a lucid-like experience through sound. Almost an hour long, it contains 8 thematically independent compositions representing an extended blend of ambient, acoustic music and nature sounds. Use it as a sound guide to lucid dreaming.

1 Engineers:

Alto Stratus said...

thanks a lot! great blog

Also check