Monday, September 29, 2014

Band: Last Builders Of Empire

Band: Last Builders Of Empire
Album: Post-War
Label: Self Released
Year: 2014

I - Inferno
01. Aether
02. Quiet Like A Knife
03. This Tired Wasteland
04. Pyre (Where There's Nothing Else Left)
II - Purgatorio
05. While I Lay
06. Huida Hacia el Sol
07. Three Fatal Sparks Have Set The Hearts Of All On Fire
III - Paradiso
08. All Is Good
09. For Those That Have Faith

Band: Last Builders Of Empire
Album: Without Remorse
Label: Self Released
Year: 2012

01. Our Gods Are Made On Earth
02. Without Remorse
03. The Withered Are Serene
04. The Sun Never Sets
05. Hibakusha 

Last Builders Of Empire was born from tireless searches on Craigslist for like-minded musicians interested in experimenting with song structures, time signatures, and sonic textures. Drummer Rich Reed and guitarist Dan Mandino came together in 2010 to form Last Builders Of Empire, which quickly recruited bassist Pat Horrigan and, in 2011, guitarist Jesse Danger. Each track is the result of an organic and collaborative effort, allowingLast Builders Of Empire’s music to stretch well beyond formulaic rock. As a result, mood, atmosphere, themes, and concepts are more fully explored and delivered.

Their first album, Without Remorse, was released in January 2012 and grapples with the selfishness of war that leaves nothing but loss and devastation in its wake. The concept carries throughout the album, inspiring the song titles, artwork, and aggressive sound. The closing song on the album, “Hibakusha”, is a Japanese term for the surviving victims of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings.

The band’s second album, Post-War, was in September of 2014. It was written as a continuation of the previous album, but moves toward the conclusion of war and continues to journey into the life (or death) thereafter. Inspired in part by a battlefield letter authored by a US Civil War soldier on his deathbed, and by Dante Alighieri’s The Divine Comedy, Post-War is a struggle with loss on a personal and conceptual level. The album is arranged into three movements that follow the different stages of the afterlife. The nine tracks ebb and flow--ranging from sparse to lush, from explosive to serene, from wounded to euphoric. With reoccurring melodies and themes that grow and change throughout, the album has a cinematic quality to it and has its own story to tell.


0 Engineers:

Also check