Saturday, March 25, 2017

Album: We All Die! What A Circus! - We All Die! What A Circus!

Band: We All Die! What A Circus!
Album: We All Die! What A Circus!
Label: Self Released
Year: 2017

01. The Trouble Of Being Born
02. Emil Cioran's Nightwalk
03. Bluebird
04. A Fishing Rod For My Grandpa
05. Tears Do Not Burn Except In Solitude
06. What We Think We Become

We All Die! What A Circus! is the solo studio project of João Guimarães from Portugal and was created in 2013. It all started with the release of the EP Drowning Gives Meaning To Breath (June, 2013) which consisted of soundscapes (synths, samples, field-recordings) mixed with post-rock and "folk" guitars with a minimalist approach focusing on the atmosphere. The song "Drowning Gives Meaning To Breath" was featured on the RibsOut Compilation 6 and the song "Hold" was featured on the compilation The Best Of Portuguese Post-Rock 2013 made by the Portuguese website Planeta Post-Rock. 

In September of 2014 the first full-length "Until The Cosmos Takes Me Back"was released featuring more drone elements, intricated guitar-work and a more layered sound, featuring two singles: From India To Gaza I, one of the highlights of the album with a strong guitar-lead dwelling in the air with its simplicity, and Old Village In Space which combines a sense of nostalgia with an eerie slow-pace solo. The album was considered one of the best Portuguese albums of the year by the website Bandcom and the song "Our Dust Turned Into This" was featured on the compilation The Best of Portuguese Post - Rock 2014 by Planeta Post-Rock. 

Between 2015 and early 2017 the new self-titled album was recorded expanding the sound of the project with a different concept, including elements of dark jazz, modern classical all warped up by reverb-drenched drone soundscapes and also post-rock guitar featuring drums for the first time.


0 Engineers:

Also check