Monday, November 21, 2011

Album: Battlefields - Agassiz

Band: Battlefields
Album: Agassiz
Label: .init records
Year: 2011

01. Entangled Mess
02. An Entire Epoch
03. Forced Abandonment
04  Laurentide
05. Manitoba Winds
06. Structured Delusion

After the release of their 2009 full-length, "Thresholds Of Imbalance", Battlefields lost founding guitarist Andrew Wallin, and went on a brief hiatus from playing shows. "Agassiz" is the band's return to the trenches with two new members and a more sonically assaulting blackened blend of metal and hardcore. Agassiz blasts through six songs in under a half-hour, presenting a concept EP of the glacial lake Agassiz, whose dried up geographic location is where the band's base of operations lies. Fans of the band's previous work my be taken aback by the sheer force of this new material, with pummeling blast beats, but there is still the familiar sound throughout the EP that Battlefields has perfected since it's conception in 2006. Agassiz lyrical content deals with when Lake Agassiz's ice dams broke and rose sea levels, destroying the old world, and setting up the new world for corrupt religious control. Featuring artwork and layout by Seldon Hunt.

0 Engineers:

Also check