Sunday, February 19, 2012

Album: Falloch - Where Distant Spirits Remain

Band: Falloch
Album: Where Distant Spirits Remain
Label: Candlelight Records
Year: 2011

01. We Are Gathering Dust
02. Beyond Embers And The Earth
03. Horizons
04. Where We Believe
05. The Carrying Light
06. To Walk Amongst The Dead
07. Solace

Falloch was formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 2010 by Andy Marshall and Scott McLean.

Their sound draws inspiration from a variety of musical styles such as atmospheric rock, metal, post-rock, Scottish folk as well as minimalist composers such as Arvo Pärt and Yann Tiersen.

Having a deep connection with nature the band is named after the Falls of Falloch waterfall in Crianlarich. Falloch (“Falach” in Scottish Gaelic) means “hidden/in hiding”.

They started recording their debut album ’Where Distant Spirits Remain’ in 2010. Upon completion they managed to secure legendary producer Ronan Chris Murphy (Ulver, King Crimson etc.) to master the album in early 2011, with the chance to sign to the revered Candlelight Records following shortly after. Their album was released on 26th September to a great critical reception.

0 Engineers:

Also check