Monday, January 30, 2012

Album: In Each Hand A Cutlass - Universe Made Of Strings

Band: In Each Hand A Cutlass
Album: Universe Made Of Strings
Label: Self Released
Year: 2011

01. The Escape
02. Inspector Cutlass
03. Glaciers
04. The March
05. Helmets And Fiery Endings
06. Chocolate And The Lovelorn Girl
07. Marauder
08. White Boxes
09. End Of The Line
10. Hammering The Bones
11. A Universe Made Of Strings

In Each Hand A Cutlass are an instrumental act comprising of some well known musicians in the Singapore music scene.

This band of sonic pirates blends progressive rock, ambient, post-rock and metal elements, casting all music boundaries aside, to create epic sprawling yearning songs that alternate between lifting your spirit and kicking your butt.

Proof of this can be found in spades in their debut album "A Universe Made of Strings". The album was produced by Roland Lim and mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren (of Opeth / Soilwork / James LaBrie fame) at Fascination Street Studios in Sweden. The album was released in conjunction with their album launch show entitled "The Amaranthine Voyage" at the Esplanade Theatres on the Bay, where they played a triumphant and high-octane set to a sold-out capacity crowd of 250 at the Recital Studio.

There’s nothing like creating a soundtrack to life’s unspoken moments and the childlike landscapes that we all paint within ourselves. And that’s exactly what In Each Hand A Cutlass hopes to create by weaving through the rich tapestries of different musicalities; constantly exploring new grounds just like how we as human beings constantly grow and learn.

In Each Hand A Cutlass is not just a band with a fancy name. It is a statement of intent.

Buy CD | Digital

0 Engineers:

Also check