Friday, May 09, 2014

Album: Cult Of Luna - Passing Through (Remixes)

Band: Cult Of Luna
Album: Passing Through (Remixes)
Label: Self Released
Year: 2014

Passing Through remixed by:
01. Beastmilk
02. Maybeshewill
03. Fleshworld
04. Obsidian Kingdom
05. Whalesong
06. Echoes Of Yul
07. Filip Szyszkowski
08. Whalesong
09. Thot
10. Petrels
11. Torog/ The Ocean
12. Shield Patterns
13. Whalesong
14. Fleshworld

Cult Of Luna is a Swedish post-metal band from Umeå. They formed from the remnants of a Umeå hardcore punk band called Eclipse in 1998. They slowly garnered critical appreciation and underground popularity with early releases Cult of Luna (2001) and The Beyond (2003); however, it is 2004's Salvation that can be considered their 'breakthrough' release. This was followed by Somewhere Along the Highway in 2006, another largely well-received album. 

In August 2006, the band released a remake of "Marching to the Heartbeats" from Somewhere Along the Highway entitled "Heartbeats" solely on the internet community MySpace. The song was available for download for a few days and was later removed. The point was to see if the song would be kept alive by file sharing, and was also apparently a statement against the conservative music industry, said keyboardist Anders Teglund in an interview.

In 2008 the band released its fifth album, Eternal Kingdom. It was released in Europe on June 16, followed by its release in the United States on July 8. 

In 2009 they released a DVD including a live performance from 2008, an interview with the band, as well as all of the band's videos.

On October 18, 2009, the band released Eviga riket, a hardback book/audiobook covering the story and themes from Eternal Kingdom. The book and audiobook are bilingual, printed and spoken both in Swedish and English. The audiobook contains new pieces of music and soundscapes written by the band. Eviga riket was released the 23 of February 2010.

On October 8, 2012, the band announced the title of their sixth studio album as Vertikal, as well as the first leg of their upcoming European tour. The release dates were confirmed as November 5, with the European release on January 25, 2013, and the American release four days later on January 29, 2013. A companion EP, Vertikal II was released on September 20, 2013. It includes the three songs with which Cult of Luna intended to conclude Vertikal as well as a remix of "Vicarious Redemption" by Justin Broadrick. 

On December 17, 2013, the band announced that they'd be taking a break of sorts for the foreseeable future stating "2013 have been a very active year for us and neither do we want or think it is good to continue in that pace" they also said "Sooner or later we will return in one form or another".

Official Site

More info:
Beastmilk / Maybeshewill / Obsidian Kingdom / Whalesong / Echoes Of Yul / Filip Szyszkowski - Pisadła / Thot / Petrels / Torog / The Ocean Collective / Shield Patterns / Fleshworld

1 Engineers:

Team-KG said...

Thanks the best live band ever

Also check