Sunday, December 11, 2011

Album: Wess Meets West - Chevaliers

Band: Wess Meets West
Album: Chevaliers
Label: Self Released
Year: 2011

01. The Mountains Are Shaking At Their Roots
02. Deadlock Arms
03. Leaving Behind A Whaling Economy
04. Stealing From Overseas
05. Chandeliers
06. If What I Think Is Happening Is Happening, It Better Not Be
07. The Wars Of Men

Wess Meets West began in late 2005 and was created by Sam Stauff (The Morning After, My Holy Ghost, A Paper Tugboat). Initially, it was intended solely as an electronic music project supplemented by Sam on guitar. The project stayed this way until February 2008 when Sam recruited bass player Bryan Gottshall and drummer Jesse Vengrove, turning Wess Meets West into a live band. The band fused it's electronic roots with it's newly found live elements, bringing the music to a whole new level and finally allowing the music to be performed in a live setting.

Wess Meets West's first Album, "You Women..." is a small collection of songs and experiments, mostly consisting of guitar driven atmospheric jams with electronic undertones. This EP was produced when it was still Sam's solo project. However, with the addition of Jesse and Bryan, Wess Meets West wrote new material that showcased their new sound. "How To Kill A Mammoth" is the result of taking Wess Meets West to a full band and live setting, yet still incorporating electronic sounds. "How To Kill A Mammoth" was recorded by Port City Recording--operated by Sam and Bryan--at Mercy College in White Plains, New York.

2009 found Wess Meets West as a solo project again, still will the help of friends when needed. "A Collection Of Explosions And Death Threats" is the third release from Wess Meets West.  A darker electronic EP consisting of B-sides.

"The Sun The Moon The Master" featuring Steve "Woody" LaCerra on drums and Bryan Gottshall on bass, was released late 2009.

In January 2010 Brian DiCrescenzo (Drums) and Erick Alfisi (Bass) joined the band enabling the band to play more shows and tour.  In 2010 alone, Wess Meets West played more shows than all the pervious years combined, sharing the stage with: This Will Destroy You, Trophy Scars, ...And You Will Know Us by The Trail of Dead, The Dear Hunter, Henry Gale, Via Audio, Pattern Is Movement, Irepress, Constants, Gavin Castleton, Kilimanjaro, Fugue and The Files and Fires.

"Chevaliers" is their latest album, recorded beteween January 2010 - August 2011 and released on 29th November 2011.

Official Site

0 Engineers:

Also check