Saturday, January 31, 2009 0 Engineers

Album: Giant Squid - The Ichthyologist

Band: Giant Squid
Album: The Ichthyologist
Label: Self Released
Year: 2009

01.Panthalassa (Lampetra Tridentata)
02.La Brea Tar Pits (Pseudomonas Putida)
03.Sutterville (Vibrio Cholerae)
04.Dead Man Slough (Pacifastacus Leniusculus)
05.Throwing A Donner Party At Sea (Physeter Catodon) feat. Karyn Crisis
06.Sevengill (Notorynchus Cepedianus) feat. Anneke van Giersbergen & Lorraine Rath
07.Mormon Island (Alluvial Au) feat. Kris Force
08.Blue Linckia (Linckia Laevigata)
09.Emerald Bay (Prionace Glauca) feat. Cat Gratz
10.Rubicon Wall (Acipenser Transmontanus)

From one's lowest moments, the greatest adventures can begin, and true freedom can be discovered.

Such is the journey that "The Ichthyologist", sophomore release from Giant Squid, takes listeners on from its first pounding, other worldly crescendo to the final sweet release at its conclusion. Based on a graphic novel of the same name written by Giant Squid founding member, Aaron Gregory, "The Ichthyologist" is a concept album of grand scale. Through the thoughts of the album's protagonists, a man stripped of his humanity and left with nothing but the sea in front of him, comes a story about adapting in inhuman ways to survive the shock of human loss and total emotional tragedy, becoming something else entirely in the process.

Official Site
0 Engineers

Album: Birthday Boyz - The Bro Cycle EP

Band: Birthday Boyz
Album: The Bro Cycle EP
Label: N/A
Year: 2006

01.Ho Money, Bro Problems
02.Bros II Men
03.Gaybroham Lincoln

Birthday Boyz are a New York City based post-hardcore band. At the moment they are recording a full length album.

*Thanx to deekmedia for this one.

Official Site
Friday, January 16, 2009 5 Engineers

Album: Vaka - Kappa Delta Phi

Band: Vaka
Album: Kappa Delta Phi
Label: Murkhouse Recordings
Year: 2009

01. The Ship
02. Born To Secrecy
03. I Of Everything
04. Sigma Omega
05. At The Hands Of Loss
06. Glacialis
07. Like An Astronomer
08. Somersaults
09. Stalemates
10. For Redemption
Download (pw:

Epic and heavy doom rock with a slightly progressive twist from Sweden. With inventive drumming and heavy use of piano, this is a fresh take on thepost-metal style that has quickly become overrun by Isis and Pelican clones. On this album, mainman Karl Daniel Liden is joined by an array of guest musicians from around the world to make this a highly collaborative venture. Mastered by John Golden, who has done mastering for such bands as the Melvins, Neurosis, Weedeater, and Primus. This should appeal to fans of bands like Isis, Mare, Opeth, and even Nine Inch Nails.

Official Site
Tuesday, January 13, 2009 1 Engineers

Album: Our Ceasing Voice - Steadied Stars In The Morphium Sky (EP)

Band: Our Ceasing Voice
Album: Steadied Stars In The Morphium Sky (EP)
Label: Self-released
Year: 2009

01. The Inevitable Fall
02. Of Lives Once Lost
03. As The Horizon's On Fire
04. Dazzled Eyes Are Shut

Our Ceasing Voice is a post-rock band from Tirol, Austria that started in late 2006. The band consists of three memebers and after a few changes and musical identification processes the current line up is:
Sebastian: guitars and programming
Christoph: bass
Reinhard: guitars/ vocals

The EP was written and recorded from fall '08 to winter '08. The band recorded the ep theirselves in their home-studio and then it was professionally mastered.
The EP is licensed under a creative commons license, allowing everyone to download/share the material. However, Our Ceasing Voice also offer a physical copy of the record. Packaging is hand-made: a 5,25inch floppy disc with pictures and liner notes holds the actual CD and is enveloped by handmade sleeves, with delicate photography on them.

The band's sound consists of a mix of ambient sounds along with (sometimes heavy) guitar riffs and the result is really interesting and enjoyable during the almost half-hour length of this ep. Furthermore, though Steadied Stars In The Morphium Sky was self-produced in the band's home-studio, the sound of this ep is pretty solid. So, Our Ceasing Voice offers us, already, one really remarkable release for this new year...


*Christofer and Sebastian from the band run the postrockcommunity.blogspot. Great work guys thanx for sharing your beautiful music with us.

3 Engineers

Album: Fog In The Shell - Private South

Band: Fog In The Shell
Album: Private South
Label: Paradigms Recordings
Year: 2008

01. They
02. Transition Is Art
03. Love Is A Taenia
04. Even If
05. Thin Line Vibrations
06. I Hate Euclid
Download (pw:

Glacial second album from Italy's Fog In The Shell. Awe-inspiring celestial wonder organically fusing heavy "post-rock" textures with psyched kraut-rock sonics,beautiful songcraft, pulsating synths, organs, theramin, gamelan gong and a touch of Thrill Jockey electronica. A truly marvellous work for appreciators of Cult Of Luna, Tortoise, Ulver and Tarantula Hawk, perhaps. Limited edition of 500 copies.

Thursday, January 01, 2009 4 Engineers

News: Mono and Isis new albums

2009 is expected to be a year with new releases from two great bands from the post-rock/metal mouvement:

Today Mono announced via their MySpace and their official pages the release of their 5th album, entitled Hymn to the Immortal Wind, scheduled for release in March

The band has also made a site with more info for their new album and a preview of the album's first track "Ashes In The Snow".

Moreover, Isis' frontman Aaron Turner, revealed in his personal blog that all tracking for their new album is finished at this point, 6 of the 8 songs are mixed and that the new song that the band debuted during their recent european tour is entitled "20 minutes/40 years".

You can download the live version of the new Isis song here (pw:

0 Engineers

Happy New Year!!!

The post-engineering crew wishes you a happy 2009...full of post-rock of course...

Also check