Thursday, April 26, 2018 0 Engineers

Recommendation: Platonick Dive - Social Habits

Band: Platonick Dive
Album: Social Habit
Label: Self Released
Year: 2018

01. Waxfall
02. Habit
03. Maple
04. Less Is More
05. Polaroids
06. Doug-Fir
07. Flannel
08. Private Room
09. Cure
10. Lago
Streaming / Buy

"Social Habits" is the third studio album from Italian electronic trio Platonick Dive. It marks a turning point in the sound and the artistic path of the band. A decidedly more ambitious album, where the electronics, the beats and the dreaming sounds of guitars and synths are now supporting the lead voice for a complete therapeutic immersion. It's the natural consequence of the therapeutic journey they started with the first album, where the band has as its main objective to use music as self-therapy and then spread it to its listeners. Despite this artistic growth, the sound remains extremely recognizable but even more personal and contemporary. "Social Habits" is composed by ten tracks. Ten different stories of lived lives, ten fragments where you can identify yourself and get lost at the same time, but also find hope and new energies.

Saturday, April 14, 2018 0 Engineers

Recommendation: Tengil - shouldhavebeens

Band: Tengil
Album: shouldhavebeens
Label: Prophecy Records
Year: 2018

01. I dreamt I Was Old
02. And The Best Was Yet To Come
03. With A Song For Dead Darlings
04. A Lifetime Of White Noise
05. It's All For Springtime
06. All For Your Myth
07. In Murmu
Streaming / Buy

Swedish post-hardcore band Tengil is a constellation of musicians playing atmospheric, experimental heavy music that is at once nostalgic, quasi-symphonic and spiritually violent. The band tabs itself as "a spiritual task, an impulsion to through music tell the story of moments passing you by, the longing to live and die at the same time, to always be both among and in flames." Despite its young age, Tengil as a collective has already performed over 50 concerts across Europe and released the full-length album "Six" (2015) as well as a slew of EPs and singles. The band's Prophecy debut is titled "shouldhavebeens".

'shouldhavebeens' tells the story of two friends, three New Year's Eves and one longing greater than life," says the band. The record aims to speak about nostalgia, saudade, mental illness, decadence, the promise of tomorrow, and how our collective views of future themselves determine who we turn out to be.

Tengil's eye-opening musical style has developed from raw hardcore to an almost heavenly wall of aggressive sound which takes center stage on "shouldhavebeens". Commanding a mind-bending and dynamic meld of hardcore, rock, blackgaze and melody, Tengil wields its wide-reaching range over varied tempos, electronics, and occasional pop moments executed with a raw energy that suggests a mash up of Dillinger Escape Plan and Explosions in the Sky. Although its delivery and musical approach is very different, the inherent self-confidence and captivating creativity that Tengil shows on 'shouldhavebeens', calls for comparison to Alcest and its legendary debut "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde".

With flowing grace and force of conviction, Tengil's lush layers of sound crush and caress in equal measure. Explosive, angular, powerful and enlightening, "shouldhavebeens" propels the listener across multiple musical boundaries.

buy EU | US
Tuesday, April 03, 2018 0 Engineers

Recommendation: Aesthesys - Achromata

Band: Aesthesys
Album: Achromata
Label: Narshardaa Records
Year: 2018

01. Grauer Wald
02. Filis Aureis
03. Marea
04. Himmelbarn
05. Melanocardia
06. Sapatha
07. Apogeion
08. Eosfyllon

Aesthesys is an instrumental outfit hailing from Moscow, Russia, performing a mixture of post-rock, ambient, neoclassical and progressive music.

official site

Also check