Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Band: Heirs

Band: Heirs
Album: Hunter EP
Label: Denovali Records
Year: 2011

01. Hunter
02. Symptom
03. Never Land (originally recorded by The Sisters of Mercy)

Band: Heirs
Album: Fowl
Label: Denovali Records
Year: 2010

01. Dust
02. Fowl
03. Burrow
04. Tyrant
05. Men
06. Mother
07. Drain

Band: Heirs
Album: Alchera
Label: Denovali Records
Year: 2009

1. Plague Asphyx
2. Mockery
3. Cabal
4. Mandril
5. The White Swell
6. Russia

OSCL Records are offering all Heirs discography until the end of the month as pay what you want.

Hailed as one of the best post-metal albums of 2009, Heirs’s debut, Alchera, established the band amongst Australia’s foremost instrumental acts. Released by German label Denovali Records, the album contained distant echoes of industrial metal deviants Godflesh, the misanthropic catharsis of early Swans and the gloomy noise rock of Slint, but these influences are something they have been steadily outgrowing. The album’s accompanying tour saw the band play 69 shows across Europe, UK and Japan, cementing their reputation for delivering an engulfing and all-consuming live experience. On stage, the band maintained a relentless, ear-splitting offensive, defying audience expectations by refusing to offer an immediate sense of resolution. 

2010 saw the release of Heirs second album, Fowl, displaying a shift towards a broader sonic palette, taking further influence from industrial, darkwave and gothic rock. Incorporating a pugilistic rhythmic foundation with coarse, threatening guitar textures and a stronger electronic presence, Fowl marked a great leap forward for Heirs, taking them beyond genres into a realm that is almost hermetic in its vision. The album also featured the bands first collaborations with multi instrumentalist and world renowned Theremin maestro, Miles Brown. Receiving much praise from critics and fans alike, Heirs returned to Europe to promote the album, performing Denovali Swingfest in Germany, Bracara Extreme Festival in Portugal, as well as headline shows across France, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium and Germany. An Australian tour with post-rock heavyweights Laura followed in March 2011, which saw the band courting a confronting visual presence to compliment the weight of their sound. 

In September 2011, Heirs will release the first single from their forthcoming third album in the form of a 10″/CD titled “Hunter”, again on Denovali Records. The material sees Heirs strengthening their melodic resolve, and while equally intense, inhabits a less oppressive atmosphere, with the band citing Cocteau Twins & Sisters of Mercy as being influential to their process. It also sees the band taking their visual explorations to new heights, with artwork and video production taking even greater significance, where light, colour and sound are distorted in to a monochrome, hyper-real coition. 

To celebrate the release Alcest & Heirs are touring Australia in October 2011 presented by Exotic Corpse and Reckoning Entertainment. The tour features visuals and installations by Heirs’ guitarist and visual artist Brent Stegeman.

Buy @ OSCL | Heirs

0 Engineers:

Also check