Thursday, April 24, 2014

Update: Athletics - Who You Are Is Not Enough

Band: Athletics
Album: Who You Are Is Not Enough
Label: Deep Elm Records
Year: 2014

01. I
02. II
03. III
04. IV
05. V
06. I (Find Yourself)
07. II (Find Yourself)
08. III (Find Yourself)
09. IV (Find Yourself)
10. V (Find Yourself)

Deep Elm Records is pleased to announce the forthcoming re-release of Who You Are Is Not Enough, the third album from post-rock / post-hardcore heroes Athletics. A conceptual record about the quest to find oneself, Who You Are Is Not Enough was written stylistically as one song separated into five parts relating to love, loss and acceptance. The 10 track re-release will include the original five part album released in June 2012 plus an instrumental version of each part dubbed the 'Find Yourself' tracks. "This is an album about finding yourself. So we felt it was only appropriate to remove the albeit very poetic lyrics in order to give the listener an option to create his or her own experience to the masterful music without any pre-conceived ideas. It's a very powerful, unique, genre-spanning album that stands on its own with or without lyrics. So fans now have a choice on how to make the most of the music" says label owner John Szuch.

"This re-release lets us showcase these songs in a different way. The vocals on Who You Are Is Not Enough are sparse for a reason: we wanted the music to tell its own story. We are now taking it a step further by including instrumental versions of each song, letting the listeners decide what these songs truly mean for themselves. Who You Are Is Not Enough was also recorded to flow seamlessly from our debut. The opening of the album is actually the piano section of the song Affliction from the debut in reverse. So we are excited to have our entire discography in the same place. We're happy to be home" says guitarist Garrett Yaeger.

"Who You Are Is Not Enough is the constant feeling that everything you're doing and all the effort you are exerting is still not enough. Sometimes your best just isn't good enough, and for somethings it never will be. Ultimately after all that self-doubt, all the failures, and self-reflection, you realize there are more important things to worry about than being good enough for some social, economic or emotional standard. This album has been a long time in the making. It revolves around a single idea that was expanded on time and time again. When Athletics first formed we wrote a song called Five Years Later which was never recorded and rarely performed. It was about a friend that had passed five years earlier. It was the most important subject I had ever attempted to write about. I was never happy with the outcome of the song, it was never good enough, it never paid enough tribute, it never captured the emotion and he deserved more. Since his passing, I have constantly measured my failures and shortcomings against the notion that he would never even have the chance to fail. Having the perspective of failing being better than nothing at all is the idea that shaped the album. It relates our collective struggles and compares them to something bigger," adds Yeager.

Athletics is Jimmy Boyce (guitar, bass), John Cannon (drums, bass), Howie Cohen (guitar, vocals, bass), Garrett Yaeger (guitar, piano, vocals, bass) and new bassist Zach West who did not play on the album. Who You Are Is Not Enough was recorded with Kevin Dye at Teleportation Studios in Freehold, NJ (Gates, Vasudeva, Let Me Run) and mixed and mastered by Greg Dunn (Moving Mountains, Gates, Vasudeva). Rosetta latte artwork by John Cannon. Athletics released their Deep Elm Records debut Why Aren't I Home? in October 2010 to rave reviews and their piano-only Stop Torturing Yourself EP in June 2012. Band photo by Jeff Zorn. The band formed in Upstate New York but now resides in the musically rich, seaside capital of the New Jersey Shore...Asbury Park. And yes, Athletics really is as good as everyone says they are.

0 Engineers:

Also check