Tuesday, January 04, 2011

Album: Catacombe - Kinetic

Band: Catacombe
Album: Kinetic
Label: Slow Burn Records
Year: 2010

01. Grundsatz
02. Supernova
03. Anna-Liisa
04. Memoirs (extended)
05. Cavalgada Epica
06. Mockba
07. Sequoia

Hailing from Vale de Cambra, Portugal, Catacombe began in middle 2007 when Pedro Sobast made the choice to create instrumental music and recorded/produced the EP “Memoirs” (self release/ digital release by Poison Tree Records 2008). “Memoirs” EP is the culmination of influences so diverse that in the end, it results in an astonishing fusion of modern metal and post-rock; getting great critical acclaim and stunning press reviews. In September 2008, what originally began as a solo project from Pedro Sobast, turned into Catacombe as a band, with the introduction of new musicians, Sérgio Soares –Bass, Eduardo Costa – Guitar; Paulo Kwane – Drums and Cristiano Moreira - Keyboards/samples. Later in December 5th, Catacombe gave it’s first concert at Fábrica do Som, Porto, opening for Nadja (Can). Following the first act, Catacombe also shared stages with names so varied, like A Storm of Light (US), My Own Private Alaska (FR), Minsk (US), Men Eater (PT) and Slamo (PT). At the time they also started writing new songs for the debut full-length record “Kinetic”, recorded it between January/March2010 at Soundvision Studios, engineered by Paulo Lopes and mastered in the US by James Plotkin (Isis, Khanate, Pelican, Earth). With the debut album “Kinetic” Catacombe find it’s own identity in the current underground music scene, showing a delightful puzzle of styles and influences.


0 Engineers:

Also check