Saturday, February 18, 2012

Album: Landforge - Servitude To Earth

Band: Landforge
Album: Servitude To Earth
Label: Self Released
Year: 2012

01. First Watch
02. Enchantress
03. Triquetra
04. God-Figure
05. Pilgrim
06. Phalanx

Landforge is the name given to the most recent solo project of Stephan Carter. Drawing influences from post-metal, post-rock, and doom metal, Landforge’s music is a combination of both ethereal ambient guitar parts and pounding distorted riffs.

The exact birth date of Landforge is uncertain. Though a number of tracks date back to late 2009, and plans for a full length album even earlier than that, the first post-metal tendencies in the music didn’t appear until mid 2010. Recording for “Creation Cycle”, Landforge’s first album, started in early 2011 and was completed in May 2011, all done by one person in a bedroom studio, using mostly free software and cheap equipment. Creation Cycle was released on the 21st of May.

Stephan did not just sit back and enjoy the success of Creation Cycle; he went right back to work. With a batch of new ideas, Landforge started writing and recording his sophomore album. On February 15, 2012, Landforge’s second album “Servitude To Earth” was released. This album has a more dense sound compared to Creation Cycle, with song becoming longer and more complex.

Landforge is not done yet. A compilation album as well as Landforge’s third album may be released as soon as the end of 2012.

0 Engineers:

Also check