Friday, April 17, 2009

Album: Saxon Shore - It Doesn't Matter

Band: Saxon Shore
Album: It Doesn't Matter
Label: Self-released
Year: 2009


01. Nothing Changes
02. Thanks For Being Away
03. Tweleven
04. This Place (vocals by Caroline )
05. Sustained Combustion
06. Bar Clearing Good Times
07. What Keeps Us Up
08. Small Steps
09. Tokyo 412am
10. Goodnight, So Long

11. Amber, Ember, Glow (Japanese edition bonus track)
12. Secret Fire, Binding Light (Japanese edition bonus track)
Download (pw:

Saxon Shore is an American instrumental post-rock band consisting of members from Baltimore, Brooklyn & Philadelphia.

Saxon Shore formed in 2001 as the joint project of guitarist Matthew Doty and drummer Josh Tillman. The two wrote several songs that, in time, were recorded for the duo’s debut album Be a Bright Blue, released on Doty’s very own imprint, Broken Factory Records. Tillman’s brother Zach was recruited for bass duties during the studio process and found himself being a full-fledged member.

After a host of tours across the United States (in which the band recruited three separate bassists), Doty moved to Seattle and later exchanged four-tracks with Josh Tillman, who was living in upstate New York at the time. Studio time reserved in Atlanta eventually blossomed into their next effort, Four Months of Darkness. Traveling musician Matt Stone contributing on guitar and like Zach before him, joined, making the group a four-piece. The album marked a change in Saxon Shore’s sound from the light indie pop of Be a Bright Blue to the more melodic Four Months.

The Exquisite Death of Saxon Shore is the culmination of a year of collaborative recording and member bolstering that also yielded the previous cdep, Luck Will Not Save Us from a Jackpot of Nothing, at the halfway mark in the spring of 2005. The Exquisite Death of Saxon Shore is characterized by Saxon Shore’s lush, intense, melodic brand of instrumental rock. The full-length is a vibrant mix of electronics and acoustic instruments, from the white label 12” sounds of “Marked with Knowledge” to the metallic refrains of “Isolated by the Secret of Your Fellow Men ” to the pop sensibilities and hooks of “With a Red Suit You Will Become a Man,” all filtered through the expert and artful ears of engineer, producer, and mixer Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, MGMT). Through 10 songs, Saxon Shore explore the story of their own hypothetical death complete with a moment of silence to close the album. Their allegory of life and death is depicted through artwork from Philadelphia artist Ben Volta who collaborated with the band through the year long recording process of the ep and full-length. Volta developed his fleshlog painting motif colored through The Exquisite Death filter. The Exquisite Death of Saxon Shore exhibits the reincarnated, resurrected, resuscitated spirit of the band.

The band's new album, "It Doesn't Matter", was released on April 15 in Japan and shortly in Europe and the US.

Official Site

2 Engineers:

data.hypercomplex said...

Wow still online. They asked my to put down the link.

Anonymous said...

Great album!

Guys check out very nice radio, listened saxon shore before there.

thanks for sharing the download :)
hope to not get removed!

Also check