Sunday, October 19, 2014

Band: Waypoint

Band:  Waypoint
Album:  Hollow Ground EP
Label: Self Released
Year: 2012

01. Convinced
02. Let In
03. Hollow Ground

Band:  Waypoint
Album: Good And Well
Label: Self Released
Year: 2011

01. Good And Well
02. Ameliorate
03. St. Claudia
04. Of August
05. One Night, The Flood
06. I Am Sun
07. Glare
08. When You See Me
09. Eros
10. Give And Take

Emerging from the fertile musical soil of Jackson, Mississippi and slaying stages since 2009, Waypoint has turned thousands of heads with what critics have described as a "unique and new experience in heavy, ambient post-rock." With roots in the hardcore scene and hearts in the indie world, Waypoint has successfully managed to bridge the gap between the two genres and developed an unrepeatable sound of their own.

Waypoint's debut release "Good and Well" arose from the embers of tragedy and followed the passing of the band's best friend and bass player Emezie Harrison. The LP sent the band in a much darker and emotive direction, and they began to venture into deeper musical waters, exploring the influential sounds of grunge and post-rock alongside their hardcore/emo roots. Waypoint returned to the studio in the summer of 2012 to record the EP "Hollow Ground" and followed the release with extensive touring, sharing the stage with the likes of As Cities Burn, Colour Revolt, Sainthood Reps, and The Weeks.

In 2013 Waypoint re-entered the studio (The Refinery in Nashville) and focused their effort on an individual hard-hitting single titled "Solus". "Solus" (latin for 'alone') marked the bands darkest and most mature material to date and caught the attention of several indie tastemakers, including Spartan Records. It did not take long for the label and band to enter into a musical love affair, and for Waypoint to find their true home with Spartan.

The band headed into the studio this summer to record their debut Spartan EP "Creature of Habit", which will be released on November 18th.

For fans of Thrice, Gates, Moving Mountains and Of Us Giants.

Preorder "Creature Of Habit" EP

0 Engineers:

Also check