Sunday, August 29, 2010

Album: Rökkurró - Í Annan Heim

Band: Rökkurró
Album: Í Annan Heim
Label: 12 Tónar
Year: 2010

01. Í Annan Heim
02. Sólin Mun Skína
03. Skuggamyndir
04. Við Fjarlægjumst
05. Augun Opnast
06. Sjónarspil
07. Fjall
08. Hugurinn Flögrar
09. Svanur
10. Undir Sama Himni

Rökkurró’s melancholic serenades are evocative of the cold and desolate landscapes of their distant homeland. Mesmerising tones and swooping strings projected against a bleak and solitary Nordic backdrop. And yet, unique warmth pervades Rökkurró’s music owed to the fragile and soothing voice of Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir.

Their debut Það Kólnar Í Kvöld (It’s Getting Colder Tonight) was released in 2007 in Iceland, Europe and Japan to great critical acclaim, followed by tour dates with iconic figures of the Icelandic music scene múm and celebrated neo-classical composer Ólafur Arnalds.

Three years on Rökkurró are releasing their sophomore album Í Annan Heim (In Another World) produced by Alex Somers, partner and music collaborator of Jónsi Þór Birgisson (Sigur Rós). Í Annan Heim is a collection of ten graceful compositions that showcase a darker, more expansive and mature sound, full of meticulously crafted melodies, complex arrangements and smooth sonic textures.

Official Site

1 Engineers:

knightabraxas said...

This is seriously my new favorite band. i just discovered them a bit ago, and Svanur is my top. I wish i could live inside of that song... It makes me think of my city, Buffalo.

Also check