Thursday, December 22, 2011

Album: Cassiopeia - Cassiopeia

Band: Cassiopeia
Album: Cassiopeia
Label: Self Released
Year: 2011

01. -
02. The Highest Step On Earth
03. The Slow March
04. Descent
05. Sun Halo (Beyond Stockholm)
06. Stargazer
07. --
08. Collapse
09. The Ascension

Formed in late 2010, Cassiopeia has aimed to forge a new sound in the shoegaze and space rock genres. Working out of Phoenix, Arizona, Cassiopeia has taken the DIY attitude and applied it to all aspects of their work. Within one month of forming, their debut demo EP was written, produced, engineered, and mixed by the band themselves and 50 hand made copies, also by the band, were released during their first show at local Phoenix record store and downtown hot spot, Revolver Records. While continuing to play shows all around the Phoenix area in the last 4 months, the buzz is beginning to grow and a small, southwest tour is set to take place in early June 2011. Taking various influences from all four members, the album was well received among local and international listeners. After posting songs online, their fan base grew to as far away as Japan and France and is steadily growing.

After raising funds throught their Kickstarter page, they entered their local studio Pyramix around mid to late June and record the whole thing live for 2 days straight. They released their debut album on 6th December and  the whole thing was once again DIY, but it was a lot more polished looking and sounding than the first release. While the initial plan wass to have physical copies as well as digital copies on itunes, amazon, rhapsody, etc... Cassiopeia hope to have copies pressed on a limited amount of vinyl.

*Thanx to Cassiopeia for letting me upload their album. Support the band!

0 Engineers:

Also check