Tuesday, January 03, 2012

Album: Drop Electric - Finding Color In The Ashes

Band: Drop Electric
Album: Finding Color In The Ashes
Label: Self Released
Year: 2010

01. We Will Be Humans, Finally
02. Brooklyn's Nightmare
03. Ruthless Youth
04. Bankrolled Hominid
05. For The Commonwealth
06. What Now, Of Paradise?
07. Scraping Herself Off The Bottom Rock
08. Bones Beneath The Bridges
09. Finding Color In The Ashes
10. Fevered Egos
11. Dagger
12. ...And Then We Lost Our Names
13. Do Not Wait For Leaders
Mediafire | Bandcamp

Drop Electric is a post-rock band based in Washington D.C. and NYC. Their music has been described as "sample based, emotive, post-rock." Based in melody and distortion and deeply inspired by cinema, their live show is a combination of evocative music and narrative film that complement the themes and emotions expressed by their mostly instrumental songs.

In December 2010, they released their debut album, "Finding Color in the Ashes" at the Black Cat Mainstage in Washington, D.C. The album has been reviewed and or featured in The Washington Post, Mixtape Muse, Musigh, and a number of other fine publications.

“If the title of Drop Electric’s debut album, ‘Finding Color in the Ashes,’ sounds dramatic, it’s because these songs grew out of a personal tragedy: The family of the group’s former vocalist, Padma Soundararajan, died in a car accident in India in 2008.

That sorrow is apparent in these mostly instrumental songs. Still, the locally formed group (its members met as students at St. Mary’s College of Maryland) also imparts a soaring serenity that recalls post-rock groups Mogwai and Explosions in the Sky. When guitarist Neel Singh plays with a violin bow on the trancelike “Scraping Herself Off the Bottom Rock,” the effect is a fluttering drone that lends the song a rumbling, expansive sound.

Elsewhere, the band’s use of volume swells is striking. “Bones Beneath the Bridges” begins as a smoldering growl before bubbling over to a dramatic climax, while the title track sounds like a dream that awakens with a vibrant xylophone melody. Though shaped by a sorrowful event, this album surges with a tranquil hopefulness. ”

- Washington Post, 12/17/2010

0 Engineers:

Also check