Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Album: The Restitution - Waves

Band: The Restitution
Album: Waves
Label: Self Released
Year: 2013

01. Faces
02. Stone Dweller
03. Sons Of Heaven & Earth
04. Weigh
05. Guardian
06. Waves
07. The Garden, Laid Bare

Since 2005, Michael Wright, vocalist\guitarist of The Restitution, has sought to break the notion that heavy music is by nature mindless and ineloquent. Beginning years ago with a borrowed guitar and amplifier simulation software, Mike began developing the sound that would become The Restitution. With inspiration from bands like Thrice, Deftones and Oh, Sleeper, he is proving that the harder spectrum of music can be intelligent, tasteful and full of honest hope.

Setting a deadline against his perfectionist tendencies, Mike went about performing, engineering and mixing the entire record himself at It's a Trap! Studio over a matter of a few weeks. "'Waves' was an exercise in authenticity for me," Mike says. "In a world where everything is auto-tuned and automated and edited to perfection, I really wanted this record to feel human." "Waves" was then mastered by Jack Shirley (Comadre) at The Atomic Garden (deafheaven, Loma Prieta).

0 Engineers:

Also check