Friday, November 13, 2015

Album: Oh Hirosima - In Silence We Yearn

Band: Oh Hirosima
Album: In Silence We Yearn
Label: Self Released
Year: 2015

01. Ellipse
02. Mirage
03. Ruach
04. Holding Rivers
05. Aria
06. Drones

Oh Hiroshima is a post-rock band from Kristinehamn, Sweden, formed in 2007 by Leif Eliasson and Jakob Hemström. Two friends who met in high school and formed a close friendship. What started off as a solo project became an output for the two of them to create and experiment with the music they loved.

In conjunction with the recording and release of the 'Empty Places Full of Memories' EP in 2009 Jakob’s younger brother, Oskar, joined the duo to play bass. The three has since been a solid line-up. A second EP titled 'Tomorrow' was released in 2010 and in 2011 the album debut 'Resistance is futile' followed. By this point Oskar had switched to the position of drummer and shortly after the release the band recruited Simon Axelsson to play bass. With Simon joining, the band was able to transform from a recording project to a full fledged live act. With exception of a show in Norrköping a couple of years back the band now started performing as a live band.

During 2014 Oh Hiroshima entered the studio once again. This time deciding to let someone from outside the band assume the task of overseeing the process of recording and mixing. After spending some time to finish song writing the band resumed recordings in early 2015 with the goal to relase their sophomore album in the first half of that year.


Also check