Wednesday, May 04, 2011

Album: Dirge - Elysian Magnetic Fields

Band: Dirge
Album: Elysian Magnetic Fields
Label: Blight Records/Division Records
Year: 2011

01. Morphée Rouge
02. Obsidian
03. Cocoon
04. Sandstorm
05. Elysian Magnetic Fields
06. Narconaut
07. Falling
08. Apogee
Download (link removed by request)

Dirge was born in Paris, France in 1994. The original core was formed by Marc T. (guitar, programming) and by ex-Damage Done, Laurent P. (voice, programming). In the industrial-metal genre of bands like Godflesh or Pitchshifter, the music generated by the duet presents harsh guitar riffs, robotic rhythms, aggressive frequenced samples and pitched voices. Three demo-tapes will be released during this first era. After this, Dirge took a more alternative course and started exploring post-metal, while holding on to their industrial sound.

At the same time, Marc T. begins to work on his new solo electronica project Dither. 7 albums and EP’s will be released from 98 to 2004.

After the leaving of Laurent P., bass player David K. and ex-Astral Rising’s guitarist Franck T. join the band. This first change in the line-up coincides with a noisier and less electronic curve; around the torn-downed voice of Marc T., the music goes darker, tortured, dissonant. The first album Down, Last Level is released in 1998.

1999, Alain B. (drums) and ex-Agmen Christophe [Zomb] D. (machines, percussion and voice) strengthen the band. Thus humanized, the music of Dirge goes much more heavy and stifling, guitars becoming the center of gravity of the second album Blight and Vision Below a Faded Sun (released in 2000 on the own band’s label, Blight Records).

Replacing Franck T. and David K., gone to their own projects Dub Wiser and Wide Open Cage, ex-Agmen Christian M. (bass) then guitarist Stéphane L. join Dirge in 2001. Three years later, the third record And Shall the Sky Descend is released and introduces a more hypnotic aspect of the band’s music. If heavy guitars stay in the center of the four long pieces that build ASTSD, the extremely slow-downed tempos, creeping samples, minimal parts, violin, didgeridoo and female vocals of Von Magnet’s Flore Magnet present the result of four years of musical evolution.

From 2004 to 2006, the band gives several concerts (with Unsane, Kill the Thrill, Cult of Luna, Nasum or Zatokrev) then goes back to studio in Switzerland in November 2006 to record its fourth album Wings Of Lead Over Dormant Seas. Released one year later as a double CD set, it features Kill The Thrill’s singer Nicolas Dick on two tracks.

Autumn 2009, Dirge starts the recording of its new album.

Winter 2010, the bands signs a new deal with the Switzerland-based label Division Records . The fifth record Elysian Magnetic Fields is released for the beginning in April 2011.

Official Site

1 Engineers:

The Aurelio Blog said...


could you erase the link to download the album below the review please. It is NOT AVAILABLE for free but on CD and LP on Division Records.


Domino Media Agency

Also check