Sunday, May 15, 2011

Album: Thisquietarmy - Vessels

Band: Thisquietarmy
Album: Vessels
Label: TQA Records
Year: 2011

01. The Hierarchy of Angels
02. Heaven and Earth
03. The Iron Harvest
04. Melted Lead on Ashen Fields
05. Finding the Fallen
06. Unearthing the Past

Eric Quach is a guitarist and sound engineer who performs under the name thisquietarmy. He is also the guitarist and founding member of the Montreal-based instrumental rock band Destroyalldreamers (Where Are My Records, Claire’s Echo).

As thisquietarmy, a one-man solo drone/ambient project, Quach composes visual guitar-based soundscapes and experimental music that goes beyond the typical song structure. By exploring his guitar as a tone generator, he furthers the boundaries of his instrument with the use of multiple effect processors & real-time loop-samplers, alternating the guitar signal’s shape and tone, blending textures over textures, merging a wide combination of sounds together and developing the melodies hidden in these walls of sound. Concrete musical ideas are often generated by the re-interpretation, the decomposition and the reconstruction of its own improvisations.

Vessels' explores themes of the sea and man's struggle with this relentless and all pervasive force, the music a perfect means of expressing both the flat calm and the force 9 storm. Eric Quach, the man behind thisquietarmy, is a prolific artist, and 'Vessels' is perhaps his most impactful work to date. 'The Pacific Theater' grips the listener in warm drone before slamming them into the rocks with epic percussion. Album closer 'A Spanish Galleon' takes a more gentle approach with clean guitar and washes of orchestral strings.

0 Engineers:

Also check