Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Album: Glorie - Glorie

Band: Glorie
Album: Glorie
Label: Makeshift Music
Year: 2011

01. Highrise
02. Music For A Horror Movie
03. Looking Through The Mirror
04. Full Circle
05. Still Saved
06. Water Drops
07. Lazy Day
08. Nightmares Then Sunshine
09. Gunshot City

Instrumental band, Glorie, was formed in Memphis in the spring of 2009 by former Satyrs frontman, Jason Paxton, after an eight year hiatus from playing music. The other members of Glorie (Jonathan Kirkscey, Rob Brimhall, Andy Saunders, and Jeff Hulett) come from diverse musical backgrounds and have performed with an impressive array of artists such as Cat Power, Jay Reatard, The Bloodthirsty Lovers, Snowglobe, The Memphis Symphony Orchestra, and Al Green.
The band started as a desire to create more substantive, engaging instrumental music with a strong focus on melody. Their music blends acoustic, electric, and electronic sounds and draws inspiration from many genres including rock and instrumental hip-hop. Texturally, the instrumentation is diverse including layers of strings, synthesizer, guitar, piano, and vibraphone creating an entrancing thick wall of sound with a cinematic quality.
The majority of 2010 was spent recording Glorie’s debut self-titled record which is due out May 17th on Makeshift Music.

Official Site
Buy CD | Vinyl (help the fundraiser to release it)

0 Engineers:

Also check