Wednesday, March 09, 2011

Album: Dead Sea Apes - Soy Dios EP

Band: Dead Sea Apes
Album: Soy Dios EP
Label: Soul Desert Records
Year: 2010

01. Soy Dios
02. Soy Dios II
03. Soy Dios III
Download (The band kindly asked not to put a link, but you can stream it here.)

Dead Sea Apes are a three-piece group from Manchester UK, comprised of Brett Savage (guitar), Nick Harris (bass) and Chris Hardman (drums). Since mid-2009 they have been developing a hard-hitting, dynamic blend of desert rock, drone rock, garage rock, krautrock, post-rock, western soundtracks and psychedelia.

Their debut single Soy Dios was released in December 2010, a nine-minute instrumental inspired by the Mexican psycho-Western El Topo and backed by two equally epic remixes. Several more tracks are currently in the works for a new EP, to be released in February or March 2011, including Astral House which was recently played by Stuart Maconie on his Freakier Zone show on BBC 6Music.

As well as working as an instrumental trio, Dead Sea Apes regularly collaborate with other musicians, such as Canadian singer-songwriter Gabe Minnikin, and Stray Light's Ellen Poliakoff; and in December 2010 they played an extended improvised set with legendary Can vocalist Damo Suzuki.

The group are currently arranging more gigs for 2011.

Official Site

0 Engineers:

Also check